Located in the eastern foothills of Rutherford, Quarry Vineyards was first settled as a homestead in the 1870's. In 1881, Charles Scheggia purchased the property and planted the first vines. Using stone quarried on the property, the old winery was completed in 1885. Unfortunately, the winery was destroyed by fire after only one crush. Due to the additional financial burdens of a phylloxera outbreak during the same period Scheggia never rebuilt the winery.
In 1920, the Werle family purchased the property for $10.00. For the next 72 years, they produced a field blend of Zinfandel grapes, and reopened the original stone quarry on the property, which provided tufa stone for the construction of many buildings in St. Helena and the surrounding area.
The Crull family purchased the Werle property in 1993 and renamed it Quarry Vineyards in reference to its history as a working rock quarry.
With the assistance of Beringer Blass, the Crulls began replanting the old vines in 1994, and Beringer harvested the first Quarry fruit in 1997. Today Quarry Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc are used in variety of Beringer Blass programs, including Private Reserve Cabernet and a limited bottling of Quarry Vineyard single vineyard Cabernet.
In the 1970's Wayne Hogue purchased a 21 acre portion of the Werle property and created The Terraces. In 2001, the Crull family purchased The Terraces property, reuniting the original homestead.
In addition to grapes and wine, the Crull family also produces traditional balsamic vinegar.